Tuesday, 24th October 2017

Indonesia expects to pass qualifying round at Sudirman Cup

18th March 2017 | 4.389 Views
Indonesia expects to pass qualifying round at Sudirman Cup
Susi Susanti. (ANTARA/Wahyu Putro A.)
Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Indonesia expects to pass the qualifying round of the Sudirman Cup badminton championship scheduled to be held in Gold Coast, Australia, from May 21 to 28.

Competing in Group 1D with Denmark and India, Indonesia expects to be able to pass the qualifying round first so that it can play in the quarter-final round.

"We must first pass the group level stage so that we can enter the quarterfinal round. The chance to win remains open against Denmark and India," Susi Susanti, chief of performance and achievement affairs, All Indonesia Badminton Association (PBSI), told ANTARA News here on Friday (March 17).

"Against India, we will seek to get points in the mixed doubles, the mens and womens doubles, as well as mens singles events; while against Denmark we will rely on the mens doubles, mixed doubles, womens doubles and womens single events," she said.

Considering the latest performance of the national teams, PBSI will be realistic in setting targets at the two-yearly championship, which is named after Indonesias badminton legend Dick Sudirman.

Susi said all teams must strive but, "We will remain optimistic to play for maximum results and who knows we can become champions. Teams need harder work, more spirit, support and prayers from all parties."

With regards to composition, Susi, who is the Barcelona 1992 Olympic badminton gold medalist, said the best teams will be formed based upon latest achievements of players, which are determined ahead of the tournament.

"The line-ups have not yet been determined pending the achievements of players ahead of the tournament. After they return from the Swiss Open, will we discuss it including determining the shadow teams, which could possibly consist of senior and junior players," she said.

According to the World Badminton Federation and PBSI official websites, the participating countries will be grouped as follows:

Group 1:

Group 1A: China, Thailand, Hong Kong

Group 1B: Korea, Taiwan, Russia

Group 1C: Japan, Malaysia, England

Group 1D: Denmark, India, Indonesia.

Group 2:

Group 2A: Germany, Vietnam, Scotland, Canada

Group 2B: Singapore, Australia, United States, Austria.

Group 3:

Group 3A: New Zealand, New Caledonia, Macau, Guam

Group 3B: Sri Lanka, Slovakia, Tahiti, Fiji.

Initially, the number of participating countries had touched 32 and were divided into four groups, but later the total number dropped to 28 after Mexico, the Netherlands, Spain and Sweden bowed out.

(Reported by Ricky Prayoga/Uu.H-YH/INE/KR-BSR/B003)