Tuesday, 24th October 2017

President Yudhoyono welcomes Greenpeace leaders

7th June 2012 | 3.450 Views
Jakarta (ANTARA News) - President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono at his office here on Thursday received Greenpeace International Executive Director, Kumi Naidoo.

Flanked by Environment Minister Berth Kambuaya and Forestry Minister Zulkifli Hasan, the head of state received Kumi, Greenpeace Asia Executive Director Von Hernandez, Southeast Asia Greenpeace Indonesian Office Chief Nur Hidayati, and Greenpeace Indonesia board member Abdon Nababan.

The head of state received the Greenpeace leaders after meeting with Royal Dutch Shell Chief Executive Officer Peter Voser and other officials from Shell International and Shell Indonesia.

At the meeting with the Shell leaders, President Yudhoyono was accompanied by Economic Minister Hatta Rajasa, Energy and Mineral Resources Minister Jero Wacik, and State Secretary Sudi Silalahi.

Speaking to the press after the meeting, Voser stated Indonesia was an important country for Royal Dutch Shell and the global oil and gas company would continue to explore the potential of cooperation between the two countries in the energy sector.

"Indonesia has had good market development in Asia and it plays an important role in Shell`s long-term global strategy. Therefore, we hope we can continue to cooperate with Indonesia in energy development, in order to meet both domestic and international demand," he said.

Voser noted that as a large energy company, Shell wanted to strengthen its presence in countries where there was significant economic development.

After the meeting with the leaders of Shell International, President Yudhoyono and Voser met with 18 teams of Indonesian students who would take part in Shell Eco-Marathon Asia 2012.

There are four teams from Bandung Institute of Technology, three each from Surabaya Sepuluh November Institute of Technology and the University of Indonesia, two each from Indonesia Education University and Pontianak State Polytechnic, and one each from Jakarta State University, Gajah Mada University, North Sumatra University, and Bandung State Manufacture Polytechnic.