Saturday, 21st October 2017

Indonesia's constitutional court establishes panels to handle election disputes

12th May 2014 | 2.532 Views
Indonesia's constitutional court establishes panels to handle election disputes
Indonesia`s Constitutional Court (MK). (ANTARA/Yudhi Mahatma)
Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Indonesias Constitutional Court (MK) has set up three panels to handle disputes on the results of the legislative election, which was held on April 9, 2014.

"MK is ready to deal with election disputes. Three panels have been set up," MK Secretary General Janedjri M Gaffar said here on Monday.

The first panel consists of MK Chairman Hamda Zoelva as the chairman, and the members are constitutional judges Muhammad Alim and Wahiduddin Adam.

The second panel comprises MK Deputy Chairman Arief Hidayat as the panels chairman, and Patrialis Akbar and Anwar Usman as members.

The third panel consists of constitutional judge Ahmad Fadlil Sumadi as the chairman, and Maria Farida and Aswanto as members.

On May 9, the General Elections Commission (KPU) announced the official results of the April 9 legislative elections with the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDIP) in the first place, winning 18.95 percent of the votes.

"I hereby announce the KPU decision No.411/kpts/KPU/2014 on the Validation of the Voter Turnout of the 2014 General Elections on the Members of the House of Representatives (DPR), Regional Representatives (DPD), Provincial Legislative Assembly (DPRD I) and District Legislative Assembly (DPRD II)," KPU Chairman Husni Kamil Manik said on the occasion.

Following is the list of the 2014 legislative election results:

1. National Democrat Party (Nasdem): 8,402,812 (6.72 percent)

2. National Awakening Party (PKB): 11,298,957 (9.04 percent)

3. Prosperous Justice Party (PKS): 8,480,204 (6.79 percent)

4. Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDIP): 23,681,471 (18.95 pct)

5. Golongan Karya (Golkar): 18,432,312 (14.75 percent)

6. Greater Indonesia Movement (Gerindrea): 14,760,371 (11.81 percent)

7. Democrat Party (PD): 12,728,913 (10.19 percent)

8. National Mandate Party (PAN): 9,481,621 (7.57 percent)

9. United Development Party (PPP): 8,157,488 (6.53 percent)

10. Peoples Conscience Party (Hanura): 6,579,498 (5.26 percent)

11. Crescent and Star Party (PBB): 1,825,750 (1.46 percent)

12. Indonesian Justice and Unity Party (PKP): 1,143,094 (0.91 percent)

Valid votes in 33 provinces were a total of 124,972,491.

With the results, two political parties, PBB and PKPI, failed to achieve the Parliamentary threshold of 3.5 percent of votes.

The KPU and the MK anticipate complaints and allegations of electoral frauds, following the announcement of the results.