Wednesday, 18th October 2017

Indonesia sets good example of democracy: Ukrainian envoy

20th October 2014 | 2.417 Views
Indonesia sets good example of democracy: Ukrainian envoy
Volodymyr Pakhil. (
Jakarta (ANTARA News) - Ukrainian Ambassador to Indonesia Volodymyr Pakhil said Indonesia has set a good example of democracy during the Presidential Election held this year which eventually elected Joko Widodo (Jokowi) and M. Jusuf Kalla as President and Vice President for the period of 2014-2019.

"Indonesia has shown itself as an exemplar democracy, a regional and global leader in terms of democratic standards - conducting a truly free and fair vote and transfer of power," said Ambassador Pakhil here, Monday.

According to him, over the past several years the bilateral relations between Ukraine and Indonesia have become increasingly dynamic, both politically and economically. The annual trade turnover reached 1 billion USD.

"We are grateful for this bilateral cooperation and hope relations between our two countries will continue to develop dynamically with the coming of the new government," said the ambassador.

President Joko Widodo or popularly known as Jokowi and Vice President Jusuf Kalla were inaugurated here on Monday during plenary session of the Peoples Consultative Assembly.

The inauguration was attended by members of the parliament, high ranking officials in the government and representatives of foreign countries.

About eight heads of state and 10 ministers from Indonesias partner countries were present, namely Timor Lestes President Taur Matan Ruak, Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah of Brunei Darussalam, Papua New Guinean Prime Minister Peter ONieill and Australias Prime Minister Tony Abbott.

Also Singapores Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Malaysias Prime Minister Dato Sri Mohd Najib bin Tun Abdul Razak, Haitis Prime Minister Laurent Salvador Lamonthe and Japans former Prime Minister Yasuo Fukuda as special envoy of the Japanese government.

Meanwhile the ministers and high ranking officials attending the inauguration ceremony were Chinas Deputy Chairwoman of the Peoples Congress Yan Junqi, Viet Nams Chief of Government Office Vu Duc NDu, New Zealands Foreign Affairs Minister Murray McCully and special envoy from the Republic of Korea Kim Tae-whan and Ham Jin-kyu.

Also Thailands Deputy Prime Minister as well as Foreign Affairs Minister Tanasak Patimapragorn, special envoy from the Netherlands Dr Tjeek Willink, US Secretary of State John Kerry, UKs Foreign Affairs Minister Philip Hammond and Russias Industry Minister Denis Valentinovich.